Book Blog UNCON 2013?

BEA is fast approaching, and I’ve been asked a couple of times if there will be a Book Blogger Uncon again this year.

After thinking about it for awhile, here is my answer:

Maybe, but I won’t be running it.

There are a few reasons for this.

First a foremost, I don’t have the time and energy to do it well. (Second kid coming, teaching, Book Riot, etc).

Second, I’m not (and haven’t been for awhile I suppose) deeply embedded in the book blogger community, and while I read blogs regularly, I don’t think I have quite the pulse of the current state of things to shape a good Uncon.

Third, as I unfortunately predicted last year (and which led directly to the development of the 2012 Uncon), the official Book Blogger Convention didn’t seem to be particularly well-received. However, the organizers appear to understand that things need to change if they want the event to be attractive to bloggers. This by no means guarantees that this year’s version will be better, but it does decrease my interest in providing an alternative.

This, however, does not at all mean that I don’t think a Book Blogger Uncon is a bad idea this year; all it means is that I myself don’t have the motivation to put it together. Someone who has the time and excitement to spearhead a 2013 (or thereafter) convention will do marvelously.

If you are that person and I can be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to get in touch (Twitter is best: @readingape). Be warned; there is no official torch to pass, so you (or you and small group of organizers) will have to build it, though I’d be happy to send an email to the people that expressed interest in last year’s Uncon once you’ve got a tentative time and place.

About bookbloguncon

The first Book Blog UNCON will take place in NYC on Monday, June 4 at the Center For Fiction Studies. This blog is the source for all information relating the the UNCON.

Leave a Reply

